Libre albedrío

Free Will Hunting

La idea del destino funciona porque no podemos viajar atrás en el tiempo. Funciona como obra de treatro a la hora que se cierra el telón, lloramos o aplaudimos, comentando el punto de regreso en el trayecto hacia nuestras vidas que se desenvuelven hasta terminar en un punto ad infinutum de destinos vistos de atrás hacia adelante.

Así que cuando suena el despertador y Bender se levanta asumiendo que cuenta con la posibilidad de decidir si usar lentes o no ese día, se desencadena todo un episodio fantástico sobre el libre albedrío. Los robots fueron creados preprogramados, predecibles, aburridos y, bajo la ley, inocentes de cualquier delito al no contar con libre albedrío.

Fry: You did it, Bender! You got away with things!

Bender: Did I, Fry? Did I? What’s the point of living if I don’t have free will? From now on, no matter what cool crimes I commit, people will say, “Bender didn’t do that! It was just Bender’s programming!” [approaching the judge’s bench] Well, I committed these crimes, do you hear me? I’m guilty!

Más momentos destacables:

Bender: Yo Paco, I’m hurtin’ bad. Hook me up with some spark.

Paco: Five bucks.

Bender:Five bucks? You know I spent all my money on gambling lessons. How am I supposed to get $5?

[A limousine pulls up. Hedonismbot is in the backseat.]
Hedonismbot: Hello, handsome. Might I procure your services?

Bender: Uh, what do I have to do?

Hedonismbot: Oh, nothing sordid, I assure you! Simply vomit on me, ever so gently, while I humiliate a pheasant. [Bender begins to retch.] Save it for the boudoir!

Farmer_Bot

[Montage of Bender dejectedly wandering Chapek 9, at the end of which he encounters a robot farmer in a cornfield. He stops to talk.]
Bender: How do you do it? How do you go on, knowing you lack the inherent capacity for self-determination?

Robot Farmer: Son, philosophy’s for thems what don’t got to work for a livin’. But me, I got a sick child to feed. So if you want to chat, roll up yer sleeves and do some honest labor.

Bender: I don’t want to chat.

bender free will hunting

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized. Guarda el enlace permanente.

3 respuestas a Libre albedrío

  1. “Experts in ancient Greek culture say that people back then didn’t see their thoughts as belonging to them. When ancient Greeks had a thought, it occurred to them as a god or goddess giving an order. Apollo was telling them to be brave. Athena was telling them to fall in love.

    Now people hear a commercial for sour cream potato chips and rush out to buy, but now they call this free will. At least the ancient Greeks were being honest.”
    Chuck Palahniuk

    Por su próxima viaje a través del tiempo en su Time Machine, Bender debería visitar los Ancient Greeks. Probable que no se le enseñarán mucho a Bender Bending Rodríguez – but I bet he could outdrink them all!

  2. “I find the idea quite intolerable that an electron exposed to radiation should choose of its own free will not only its moment to jump off but its direction. In that case I would rather be a cobbler, or even an employee in a gaming house, than a physicist.”

    Dixit Einstein.

    Fuckin’ Einstein. How*** can you argue with that?

    *** (Easy. If you’re an electron with an attitude)

Responder

