our biographers

our biographers are having an affair. it all began when they met for

coffee at the hotel on the coast where we vacationed once upon a

time in their biographies about us. and the coffee led to a drink

and they kept talking about the work and about us. she was in the

middle of the chapter when you left me for that Feminist stripper

and he had just finished a heavy chapter which ended with me

drunk and dialing every number I had ever had for you. she

ordered your favorite drink and he had a club soda in tribute to me

he said. it wasn’t long before they were taking off each other’s

clothes with the same ocean outside that same balcony door. I

can’t remember if after making love with you I stood on the

balcony and looked out and counted the tiny lights of boats on the

far edge of the ocean. but he did and imagined he was me. and

she lay back on the pillows watching him wondering if you did the

same and I think you must have because when the fog horn

sounded as it did for them just now I turned back and saw you

there as he turned back and saw her there and the breeze off the

ocean blew the curtains in and I think she must have looked lovely

but not possibly as lovely as you. and I must have done the same

as he and come back to lay beside you in the bed with the night

and everything else all around us and all around them and all

around us and all around them.

~Denver Butson~

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Una respuesta a our biographers

  1. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession
    capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Responder

